Rosetta Stone: Where Our Name Comes From

Get a Free Quote

Recent Updates

Translating – if it's not done right – can be a risky business.

As well as words that have multiple meanings, there are also cultural connotations with certain phrases that can have an adverse effect on the message you're trying to communicate. Similarly, there's the risk that your intended meaning will be lost if you attempt to directly translate from one language to another, as the task is rarely a simple case of swapping words from the mother tongue into its target equivalent, or vice-versa. Read More

Rosetta Stone

Where Our Name Comes From

180px-Rosetta_Stone_British_Museum

Rosetta Translation is named after the Rosetta Stone, one of the most famous translations in history.

By the end of the 18th century AD, the meaning of the ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs had become lost and the Rosetta Stone played a substantial part in advancing our understanding of hieroglyphic writing. The stone is made up of three versions of the same passage, written in two Egyptian scripts (hieroglyphic and Demotic) as well as Classical Greek.

Created in 196 BC, the stone was rediscovered in 1799 by French archaeologists subsequent to Napoleon’s conquest of Egypt in 1798, near the Egyptian port city of Rashid (called Rosetta by the French).

180px-Rosetta_Stone_BW

The breakthrough in deciphering the Rosetta Stone (and therefore the Egyptian hieroglyphs) came when the English polymath Thomas Young focused on a set of hieroglyphs surrounded by a loop, called a cartouche. He suspected that these highlighted hieroglyphs represented something of significance, possibly the name of the Pharaoh Ptolemy, who was mentioned in the Greek text.

If that was the case, Young could then latch on to the phonetics of the corresponding hieroglyphs, because a pharaoh’s name would presumably be pronounced roughly the same way regardless of the language. This was indeed the case, and the decipherment of the hieroglyphs was underway.

The French scholar Jean-François Champollion subsequently greatly expanded on Young’s work, and is generally credited with deciphering the Egyptian hieroglyphs.

The Rosetta Stone itself has been on display at the British Museum in London since 1802, although Egypt has been demanding its return since 2003.

Our Accreditations

©2018 All Rights Reserved

罗赛塔石

获取免费报价

近期更新

翻译,一份“高风险”工作

文字、短语富含多重意义和不同的文化背景,在交流中,它们均会对你试图传达的信息产生关键影响。 同样地,将文字直接翻译成另一种语言时,原文包含的某些意思可能会丢失,这时风险也就出现了。原语言到目标语言的翻译过程,往往是将对应的词汇语句进行更替,而语境、文化习惯则易被忽视。 Read More

罗赛塔石

我们的名称源于何处

Rosetta Stone

罗赛塔翻译源于罗赛塔石碑。罗赛塔石碑涉及历史上最著名的翻译故事之一。

18世纪末,古埃及象形文字的意义已经失传,于是罗赛塔石碑在帮助人们理解象形文字著作方面起着非常重要的作用。这块石碑包括有同一段落的三种文字版本,其中两种采用埃及文(象形文字和古代通俗文体)草书,另一种采用古希腊文草书。

Rosetta Stone

罗赛塔石碑制作于公元前196年。1798年拿破仑征服了埃及之后,法国考古学家于次年在埃及港口城市拉希德(法国人称为罗赛塔)附近重新发现了这块石头。

英国博学家托马斯•杨在破译罗赛塔石碑(以及埃及象形文)方面取得突破性进展。他将注意力集中于一个称之为螺旋图案的装饰环所包围的一组象形文,怀疑这些突出的象形文表示某种重要意思–可能是托勒梅法老的名字,托勒梅在希腊文字中有记载。

如果情况确是如此,则托马斯•杨可能掌握了与象形文字相对应的语音学原理,因为不管哪种语言,一位法老的名字估计其发音大致都一样。
法国学者琴•弗兰科依斯•坎波林随后大幅度地拓展了杨的工作,其以破译埃及象形文密码而著称。

自1802年以来,罗赛塔石碑一直在伦敦大英博物馆展出,虽然埃及自2003年以来一直要求将此石归还埃及。

我们的资格认证

©2018 保留所有权利